Elasticsearch 5.0 is out. Major enhancement inside!

elastic-stack-5-0-diagram-thumb

On November 3, 2016 Shay Banon and the Elastic team announced a new major GA release. It is a complete rename (the Elastic Stack) and the version number was bumped from 2.0 to 5.0. What does it mean and why should you upgrade to this new version?

This famous Open-Source software was previously named the ELK triplet in the past(  Elasticsearch, Logstash, Kibana ). Yet, since more companion building blocks were added over time, Timelion, Beats, X-Pack, the ELK keyword was no longer appropriate. The new name is merely ‘The Elastic Stack’ and all version numbers are now aligned to 5.0.

“It works well together” – says Shay Banon.

We’ve heard this motto many times with another Silicon Valley company and it means we will see the benefits in quick adoption of new technology when the complete portfolio is well tested and the APIs are consistent.

So, why above all should you upgrade to ES 5.0?

Let’s have a look at 5 reasons:

  1. Elasticsearch claims 2x speed improvement compare to previous 2.4.x release. While obviously this number may depend on your specific workload, a 2x bump is speed will help to reduce the TCO and hardware requirements in your application
  1. A new ‘ingest node’ capability. What it means is that you can now process and enhance your data before it even gets into your Elasticsearch index, removing the pain to write ad-hoc scripting to edit the data being inserted. Among other things, the ingest node can be a very convenient feature to clean-up the data before it gets stored in the Elasticsearch index.
  1. More comprehensive and improved packaging X-Pack commercial extensions. You have them, or you don’t – as easy as it gets.
  1. The new ‘beats’ comes with Kafka and Redis output. As Monica Sarbu explained the feature removes the pain to go twice through Logstash in an actual deployment.
  1. The Elastic team is clearly dedicating their time to allow a smooth and painless transition to the new release. Events in Paris and other cities, as well as webinars, have been scheduled to allow you to meet the experts and query assistance. The next ‘Time to Level-Up’ Live webinar is scheduled on Tuesday, November 29, 2016 9:00 a.m. PST / 12:00 p.m. EST / 5:00 p.m. GMT / 6:00 p.m. CET.

– Author: Sébastien Léger – CEO.